Jul 122020

this was “uploaded and processed by thosespacesinbetween” which i think might be (some of?) the (former?) planetfuncamp crew up in old lyme, connecticut, up to their usual fine work, especially the bold lisa e — a tip o’ the hat to lisa e.  i have friends in fairfield, just an hour up the road; if i’m ever able to make it over there again, i’ll have to pop up the freeway to check out old lyme & the old lyme inn.

roxy coss quartet
old lyme inn
old lyme, ct, usa
9 jan 2015

sax’s: roxy coss
drums: willie jones iii
guitar: rafal sarnecki
piano: adam birnbaum
bass: dave baron

set i

01. announcements and intro
02. tricky
03. banter
04. recuring dream
05. perspective
06. banter
07. happiness is a choice
08. banter
09. push

set ii

01. introduction
02. waiting
03. the story of fiona
05. almost my own
06. banter and band intros
07. don’t cross the coss

tt 1:40:05

recording location: directly behind piano table top
recorded using: teac vr-10 with internal mics
input level set to: +6

attendees: lisa e.
any and all photos and/or video taken by d.e. palm
uploaded and processed by thosespacesinbetween

sample:  set 1 t09 push.mp3 and set 2 t07 don’t cross the coss.mp3
download: Download

Aug 242019

here’s a treat: hilary kole live at the iridium, singing a lot of ‘standards’, though not all standards that i’ve heard much (as she comments about one song, actually).  the only glitch is that the recording cuts out 30 minutes into the second set!  this was a live webstream (so a rare video here on cipjazz), with a bonus (ding! ding! ding!) of demuxed & tracked audio (.m4a a.k.a. aac-lc).  yeah, basically i just wanted to listen to this in my car.

hilary kole – 2014-04-30
iridium jazz club
new york city, usa
30 april 2014
live webstream

hilary kole – vocals (& piano on “haunted heart”)
adam birnbaum – piano
paul gill – bass
aaron kimmel – drums

set 1

01 announcer intro
02 get happy!
03 hk chat
04 i just found out about love
05 hk chat
06 while we’re young
07 hk band intros
08 love you madly
09 hk chat
10 lush life
11 the wrong time
12 hk chat
13 the man that got away
14 i only have eyes for you
15 two for the road
16 hk chat
17 there’s a small hotel
18 hk long intro to “haunted heart”
19 haunted heart
20 hk chat & band intros
21 nobody else but me
22 announcer

time 1:09:32

set 2

23 announcer intro
24 stompin’ at the savoy
25 hk chat
26 better than anything
27 hk chat
28 come back to me
29 hk band intros & chat
30 good morning heartache
31 the end of a love affair
32 hk chat
33 cottage for sale (incomplete)

time 30:17

sample: t11 the wrong time.mp3
download: HilaryKole_2014-04-30_IridiumJazzClub_NYC.zip