Mar 292020

i seem to be on a bit of an italian jazz kick right now, with shows by mario pavone, mauro negri and now mauro verrone.  this was shared by the prolific survivor69, who has some interesting comments below.  i recently got around to setting up streaming from my computer in my office to the living room, so now i can play things like this over dinner.  lovely — and in this case, i’m sure it will be better received than what i chose last night.  or that might have been due to the crappy tv speakers, in which case perhaps my streaming efforts have been for naught.

** update: for some reason, only the first 5 tracks (counting the intro) made it into the zip file — it bombed during the 4th actual track.  i’ve uploaded a new zip, with all 9 tracks **

mauro verrone quartet [con cicci santucci]

recorded at casa del jazz, roma, italy, on friday 18.march.2016

mauro verrone, alto saxophone
andrea beneventano, pianoforte
paride furzi, basso
massimiliano de lucia, drums
with guest cicci santucci, trumpet

quite classic bop from this massimo urbani emule… most compostions are verrone’s, except where noted, but indeed they mostly are standard tune reworked in some way (ie track4 comes from naima, and track6 is almost same title, track7 comes from love for sale, and read track8 the other way round…)
also included in this folder as track00 a radio introduction with bio notes and commentaries – this intro runs for 3’34”, you can skip downloading it if you don’t understand italian.

(00 radio introduction by pino saulo)
1- tema di aldo
2- cool river [beneventano]
3- thought of night
4- a quiet place
5- arietis [freddie hubbard]
6- i’ll remember aprilia
7- sale for love
8- navarac
9- radio outro 0.36

running time : 78’48” (excluding radio intros)
with radio intro and outro it would be 82’58”

fm radio broadcast by “il cartellone – radio tre suite jazz”, radio 3 rai [third channell of italian national radio], on tuesday 1 november 2016, 22:33 hours cet.

lineage (fm > hard disc > web):
itt hifi4060 tuner > audacity 2.0 via asus a7s333 c-media cmi8738/c3dx soundcard > 44100hz/16bit .aup > flac’s (level 8) > webtorrenting
folder size : 661 mb

firstly upped by survivor69 on, 2-november-2016 (dimeupload #1641)

sample: t4 a quiet place.mp3
download (fixed zip file):

  9 Responses to “mauro verrone quartet – 18 march 2016, casa del jazz, rome, italy”

  1. edit: the original zip file was corrupt – here’s the password for the fixed files:

  2. Pete i’m sorry but winrar says the file IS CORRUPTED …PLEASE FIX!…

  3. Can you please recheck the file? I get CRC errors trying to extract it. Many thanks!

  4. Thanks for your dollops of jazz music in these straitened times, Pete, and thanks also for the Italian jazz to remind us of what the Italian people are going through at present. Hope you and yours are very well…

  5. for the fixed zip file: 9ni7y8f1et

  6. thank you very much for the quick answer…listen to the show now…
    like Monk i’m very pleased with your kindeness …a great soul…

  7. Excellent ! This session will aid my self isolation tomorrow !! Many thanks Pete.

    • hope it helps! i work from home all the time. so, somewhat perversely, i’m actually seeing people more during the workday, since my wife and daughter are now also working from home. though, even with that, these are trying times.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.